Picture
I cannot express how lucky I am to be in Guatemala.  Even though our days consist of work, hunger, and no sleep, I'm coming to enjoy the thoughts of stillness.  It is a change from the daily routine I've become accustomed to--fine cheeses, fine wine, sushi and steak--but the prior is being replaced by fine beans and fine rice so everything is: fine. 

My skinny build is building.  Yoga is led in the mornings by Chris though I'm having trouble with 'downward dog'. We have left over rice and beans for lunch, and sometimes if we're lucky rice and beans for breakfast. After these fulfilling meals, Zach leads us in aerobic exercising sometimes climaxing in a 20 mile hike up and down the mountain--but in all realities either this routine will create a
fine gardening machine or you can simply purchase these at home depot back home, though I have no idea where to find the necessary isle or strength.  

Zach, Chris and Ryan have been wonderful company, that without, I could have never remained as calm; having no concept of the language, culture or soccer skills.  I miss not speaking/conversing with my new surroundings though. There is an unseen barrier between the locals and me--one that only by harnessing the great powers of Zach and Chris allows me to communicate through. 

Also you might like to know, that despite my enormous failure in Boy Scouts, I have successfully made a fire to cook beans and rice.

Our dreams have been vivid.  They seem to speak a different tale each morning, something I've come to enjoy hearing.  It seems there are 4 additional 'waxwings*' that hover slightly above our heads, each examining the days events, deconstructing them into a powdery mist that when sprinkled lightly upon the forehead of its recipient, procures a silhouette of its present presence.  Each night the waxwing returns and my shadow sharpens in focus--another reminder that I exist, a light, and a wall between. In the morning, we reconstruct the prior nights events with detail, ensuring another visit from the waxwing.  I hope to share more updates about our findings on this mythical creature soon, but for now they're welcomed with gracious company. 

We continue to farm.  The seed for radishes will soon be planted.  

Please pass these words to Kyle, for I realize his Junior-year summer is upon him and the sun is an escape for those in the Northwest.  Also be prepared for when I return to sleep for two months strait.  When I awake, you will find me passed out in the kitchen, having eaten 15 eggs, 2 pounds of sausages, and 3 and a half loafs of bread.  The mayonnaise, avocado, and tomato I was planning to eat along side may be the only things remaining uneaten...but this is all hypothetical reasoning that I will not dwell upon now. 

 I miss you all, for everything you've done has led me to this, from Guatemala; 

Love,
Sean.


*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waxwing
pingback
6/22/2010 06:51:02 am

Wax is edible. Given your almost glorious obsession of food, I would suggest that waxwing is a representation of your desire for food.

Reply
Nick N.
6/22/2010 08:43:02 am

Keep it up my friend. I can't wait to read the next posting.

Reply
Nagisa
6/23/2010 03:56:40 am

My little Seanny is growing up. ;__;

Reply
Langley West
6/25/2010 07:25:54 am

Don't think of the language barrier as a negative...It forces you to interact with the locals on a completely different level...a purely human one. You'll be amazed at how much you can communicate without the spoken word. At the same time, it gives you something to learn and to teach...the most basic interaction you can have. I'm excited for you...when I was having a similar experience in the Philippines, I found it to be the most rewarding and clearly defined time of my life. Of course, this didn't happen until it was over. Hang in there...you're doing something great! So glad you're not in a city...you might get swallowed by a giant sinkhole! Can't wait to see you when you get back =)

Reply
Justartison
6/25/2010 04:53:43 pm

Even though you seem more isolated that zach and chris you still seem optimistic which does take you far. KEEP GOING~! I'm happy that you're not regretting this trip!
~Nat justartison

Reply
Nagisa
6/28/2010 02:38:55 pm

I want to find my spirit animal too.

Reply
Catherine
6/29/2010 03:11:41 am

Sean,
Love the concept of coloring in this previously uncreated world of "Guatemala" of yours. Following this line of thought could lead to hours of bantering.

Sounds as though you mite be hungry. Who is doing the cooking? Do u all pool your $1/day for shopping at the market?

There r many ways of communicating which u r well adapt at.

Loved the youtube portfolio although some of the music was unsettling for this senior citizen.

How goes filming?

Catherine

Reply
5/7/2012 10:05:38 am

A handbag or just a bag as well as pouches are bags that happen to be normally used by women to hold their belongings. Most of these bags are made as per the fashion. A purse is actually a small bag which is used to

Reply
5/7/2012 11:18:33 am

coach in many countries have agents that can be searched, in China he has become our consumer goods. Hong Kong and Shanghai have already have a coach of the store, but Japan also introduced a coach that expensive, luxury brand, became his second of the Kingdom. We always see the screen "C" word, many celebrities are a big fan of coach, can often present with a variety of parties, fashion styles you, beautiful colors, enough to attract the eye. Star advertising effect, so that more people understand that coach.

Our Coach outlet store online wholesale ,retail and discount coach of the product brand.COACH has been the practicality and durability of leather goods for their own mind, in a balance between traditional and popular, and maintain the price on the plain is very suitable for a senior ladies fashion brand.

Reply
5/7/2012 05:11:32 pm

They can generate your family trip really memorable and even budget friendly.

Reply
5/9/2012 03:39:46 pm

No matter what the field or specialty of your business, there is a coach out there for you. By considering your individual situation and working to meet the long and short term goals of your business, business coaching will help foster your company's growth.

Reply
5/10/2012 10:43:07 am

Except for availing goods, on the list of exclusive attributes and even expertise in web based store shopping is without a doubt going without shoes can certainly meet your daydream family trip escapades.

Reply
5/10/2012 01:32:10 pm

The post is absolutely fantastic! Lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need! Also like to admire the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer! I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often.

Reply
11/11/2013 01:56:14 pm

Wow, amazing blog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you made blogging look so easy. The full glance of your web site is excellent.

Reply
11/11/2013 01:56:44 pm

I was more than happy to discover this website. I want to thank you for ones time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and I also have you bookmarked to see new information on your website.

Reply
11/11/2013 01:57:29 pm

Very good write-up. I definitely appreciate this website. Continue the good work!

Reply
11/11/2013 01:58:30 pm

Bookmarked!!, I like your blog!

Reply
11/11/2013 01:59:22 pm

hi!,I like your writing so much! Looking forward to more articles from you.

Reply
Smith
11/11/2013 02:02:12 pm

hi

Reply



Leave a Reply.


try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1429984-4"); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}