Picture
Dear Sally,
 I do not very well recall our conversation before my travels here but the four cups of coffee and artisan sandwiches consumed during our words exchanged may have been sufficient enough to regard the conversation as ‘memorable’—even though I despise the term.  What I do recall from that morning (besides the circularity of each graduating high school class), was a comment you said, directed towards me in regards to my ‘blogging’ in Guatemala:



 “Amongst everything Sean, tell us the truth—I want to hear what
you’re feeling”

 As hard as I try, I cannot capture the ‘truth’ of the Pena Blanca community through any type of word or image, but
I can admit now (after 5 weeks spent here), that my dreams of late are no longer filled with food, but rather the struggles beyond that of my own—the stories of the families in comparison, make our rice and beans seem like luxury. How can I complain about the amount I’m eating, when my neighbors have less than half the amount for twice as many people? By becoming so close to this community all I want is to help them in some immediate way—I want to give them $20 cause it could do so much here...but no—what is tough is that this is not a sustainable solution for them yet my conscious wants the problem to change immediately. How can I leave here without giving something back to these people who are struggling now? One family wants to take a microfinance loan but cant...cause they're so poor, no one wants to be in a group with them. Where do they start? How can I simply return home with these problems, left unsolved, in my head? The problems of disparity of wealth and opportunity is something we must all deal with at times (I realize this) but nevertheless it’s very difficult knowing that I can return to living as I was before. What can I do at home that will not just give empty cash to families here and instead offer them something that will support their goals, opportunities and own self-empowerment? Because of this, I must remind myself that indeed giving money and clothes will help them now, but it is not the solution to combat poverty. Instead, I hope the stories and crafting of a documentary will impact others, myself included, to take actions, whether they be big or small, often or infrequent, to help others, where help is deserved.

 As for my struggles, do not worry; my thoughts of hunger or tiredness are nothing in comparison to the families here and their children. In regards to ‘truth’, I have done my best to recite honestly, the complicated structure of schematics in the disparity of wealth and the struggles of one’s musings. Even though tomorrow is a new and the next is as well, my struggle today, lies in imagining our departure from here: At first it was so heavily colored with food and celebration upon succeeding off ‘living on a dollar’, but now the picture seems too complicated, un-colorable for the lines fall off the page. I don’t let this disappoint me though—there are still deep impressions of ink and color beginning to bleed through. Oh, if only I could color the entire page, connect the lines of indifference and un-complementary colors, only then maybe will a solution to the drawing be uncovered. For now, I hope the fibers on the page remain engraved so, a moment; no matter how far or whenever it presents itself, retains some coloring of
this encounter to mine.   

I do hope we can sit over coffee again and discuss our adventures in greater detail.

-Sean

 p.s. Give Charlie my best and relay the message that his backpack (though now slightly more beaten) remains intact.





charlie
7/20/2010 02:29:14 pm

Hello Sean
I can only imagine what you are seeing and feeling. Im not sure that we always have it better, since it is relative.

Sean,

The people you are living amongst are powerful people in spite of their hardships. Our material wealth in many ways is just a veneer of comfort. My guess is they see you as you are or would like to be, that is a caring soul. You cant offer much more than that. Say hello to my backpack. I cant wait to hear its tales.

Your amigo Charlie

Reply
Haley Priebe
7/28/2010 01:29:22 pm

Hey Sean,

Your desire to help and torn feelings over immediate needs versus long-term sustainability highlight the crux of the current tension between charity and business, or even social business. (In fact, this tension exists within the concept of sustainability.)

Unfortunately, I am not sure I can assuage your torn feelings; however, your friend Charlie seems to offer some good input. I guess you can also ask yourself what opportunities, supports, or blessings you would desire most, if you were impoverished.

I also found your comment about group exclusion of the poorest community members interesting. Although I can imagine that your experience is sort of bittersweet, I am so jealous of all the subtleties you guys are becoming acquainted with. This type of knowledge - I think - is one of the most crucial ingredients in effective microfinance and social business. Do you get the sense that such examples are taken into account by microfinance institutions, or do they to consider such cases outliers, or externalities?

Sorry, I've totally rambled, but your note got me thinking. Hope you're still enjoying bean and rice. Seems like you're all becoming quite the cooks - an unexpected outcome!

xoxo

Reply
Julia González
5/3/2011 09:42:37 am


I’m a journalist from “Expressions” magazine of American Express. I’m actually writing an article about the most important TED conferencies in the last years. I would like to ask you, if you can send me some pictures in high resolution, specially from you, Chris and Zach, in the Guatemala’s jungle. My e-mail is [email protected]

Thank you in advance,

Best regards,

Julia

Reply
9/10/2012 10:35:14 am

Is there a way to search blogs on Weebly?

Reply

Your website is very chatty. It will be useful for all of us. You have done a work. I will come here again to inspect new updates. Thanks for posting.

Reply
7/24/2013 03:51:41 am

Hi there! I simply want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I'll be returning to your web site for more soon.

Reply
7/24/2013 03:52:49 am

it great that you go beyond your past projects, its a real example of progressive thinking. Health should be our mantra.

Reply
7/24/2013 03:56:18 am

Your means of telling all in this piece of writing is truly pleasant, all be capable of effortlessly know it, Thanks a lot. Darnell

Reply
8/6/2013 08:29:48 pm

I was taken by those hard words of his in the end. Those words show a lot of courage. I hope the fibers on the page remain engraved, no matter how far or whenever it presents itself, retains some coloring of this encounter to mine. Good luck brother.

Reply
8/8/2013 05:20:25 am

A very informative site. The way you have share this information is
really very appreciative. Hope to see more on this topic here. Thanks
for posting this information here.

Reply
10/3/2013 10:18:09 pm

All the contents you mentioned in post are too good and can be very useful. I will keep it in mind, thanks for sharing the information keep updating, looking forward for more posts.

Reply
10/17/2013 09:08:21 pm


The information you shared through your post is functional. I admire your work. Wish you all the luck for all your blogging efforts.

Reply
10/17/2013 09:12:46 pm

I am so much excited after reading your blog. Your blog is very much innovative and much helpful for any industry as well as for person. +1

Reply
10/21/2013 04:23:24 pm

thanks for posting this kinda article.
nicely written and well done buddy.

Reply
10/21/2013 04:23:54 pm

thanks for posting this article.

Reply
10/21/2013 06:43:37 pm

awesome blog, i love reading your posts- you are full of so many great ideas! Keep the posts coming.

Reply
10/26/2013 05:26:07 pm

The best are many.It is true'ly hard to say which one is the best, I recollect 8 seconds making me shed a tear thou!!!

Reply
11/18/2013 01:32:08 pm

hey sean do u enjoy cooking or the it was the condition that make you the cook ??

Reply
11/24/2013 07:01:06 pm

I must say that the articles in this blog are very interesting to read. The second one, I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most

Reply
11/28/2013 06:19:35 pm

It's really good quality information that you offer to your visitors for this blog.

Reply
12/1/2013 01:38:39 pm

I’m impressed by the details that you have on this web site.

Reply
sd
2/10/2014 11:16:30 am

SFAdw edcsd

Reply
2/17/2014 07:27:13 pm

It's really pleasure to read your post. Thank you so much for writing such a nice post.

Reply
2/23/2014 01:19:19 pm

Nicely presented information in this post, I prefer to read this kind of stuff.

Reply
3/3/2014 01:34:05 pm

Thanks for sharing this lovely post genuinely loved it.

Reply
3/26/2014 03:54:30 pm

Awesome blog, awesome information. Thanks for sharing

Reply
3/26/2014 05:09:02 pm

I found so many interesting things in this blog, excellent work.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1429984-4"); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}