Picture
I have always been told that my great grandfather, an Italian immigrant, never made much money because my great grandmother always packed him such extravagant and delicious lunches. This appreciation, bordering on devotion, for good food runs deep through my family’s veins. Without a doubt, I bleed the same blood as my great grandfather.
 
Living under a dollar-a-day, which means living on tortillas, rice and beans for two months, may seem like a ridiculous choice to impose upon myself. However, through pushing myself so hard through this experience, to re-evaluate even my deepest beliefs, has given me invaluable perspective on my own life and what I am meant to do with it. 

I have never considered my family wealthy nor do I think that we eat lavishly or in gross proportions but now I can fully appreciate how lucky we are. The small peak at the effects of eating such a minimal amount, in terms of the effects of the diet on my body, the time demanded to cook over an open fire and the realization that the little food we do have here would be a feast for some of our neighbors, brings new appreciation and relative value to every bite I eat. 

When I return home I am still going to cook my family the dinner of Mexican Spicy Roasted Shrimp and Potato Stew with Pollo a la Miel and homemade Focaccia with crumbled blue cheese that I have been planning for a week now. However, I am also going to devote myself with every ounce of my sole to helping people like Rosa Coj Bocel and Carlos (Chino) have more than just salt and tortillas on their kitchen table each night. Finding a way to do this through the power of food would be all the better.

Picture
Carlos (Chino)
Here is what I mean about the power of food...

 Check out what Whole Foods’ philanthropic organization, Whole Planet Foundation, has been able to achieve through building up microfinance in the developing communities that Whole Foods sources their products from. They also funded our project so I guess I am already one step closer to my life goal of fighting poverty with good flavors. 

...And yes for those food lovers out there here are the recipes for the dinner I’m making for my family (from some of my favorite blogs). Eat well and do something for those that can’t! 

Mexican Spicy Roasted Shrimp and Potato Stew – The Spiced Life
Pollo a la Miel – The Spiced Life
Focaccia with Bleu Bheese and Caramelized Onions – What We´re Eating
MOM
8/3/2010 08:52:18 am

Not quite sure how to integrate spicy shrimp while looking at a photo of Zach eating a very big earth worm....no extra ingredients please! Can't wait!!!

Reply
10/26/2010 07:41:57 pm

Thank you for the post.

Reply
11/12/2010 03:52:25 am

This is awesome:D I love what your doing, and when I have more time I will have to read all of the blogs and watch all of the videos.
Absolutly love it:)

Reply
asdfjl;
11/13/2010 04:50:53 am

hey guys! (this is to all four of you)

I think what your doing, is truly amazing. I just wanted to tell all of you, that your not only making a huge difference in your life, but in many other peoples.

May god bless.

Reply
5/7/2012 10:05:13 am

A handbag or just a bag as well as pouches are bags that happen to be normally used by women to hold their belongings. Most of these bags are made as per the fashion. A purse is actually a small bag which is used to

Reply
5/7/2012 11:18:11 am

coach in many countries have agents that can be searched, in China he has become our consumer goods. Hong Kong and Shanghai have already have a coach of the store, but Japan also introduced a coach that expensive, luxury brand, became his second of the Kingdom. We always see the screen "C" word, many celebrities are a big fan of coach, can often present with a variety of parties, fashion styles you, beautiful colors, enough to attract the eye. Star advertising effect, so that more people understand that coach.

Our Coach outlet store online wholesale ,retail and discount coach of the product brand.COACH has been the practicality and durability of leather goods for their own mind, in a balance between traditional and popular, and maintain the price on the plain is very suitable for a senior ladies fashion brand.

Reply
5/7/2012 05:12:07 pm

They can generate your family trip really memorable and even budget friendly.

Reply
7/15/2012 09:35:41 am

good post

Reply



Leave a Reply.


try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1429984-4"); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}