Zach and I thought of the idea for this documentary with our friend and fellow microfinance nerd, Haley Priebe, while drunk in a bar in Cartagena, Colombia. That was in June 2009. At the end of the week’s discussions, we had ambitiously decided to create a documentary of us living on a dollar a day while travelling around Bolivia and Peru, interning for microfinance institutions and showing our videos to university students to raise awareness for Microfinance and our student microfinance network, MFI Connect (www.mficonnect.com).

             A few months went by, we discussed it casually, bounced it off of friends and family, and the ideas continued to evolve. If our peers in the West were able to see us struggling in poverty, maybe they would be able to connect to it more than traditional documentaries which seem so distant and surreal? Maybe we could contrast it with our typical lifestyles in the US, showing a documentary of us interning at an Investment Bank in New York for the first half of the summer (My alternative for this summer) and working at a Microfinance Institution in the developing world for the second. This way, we thought, we could explore the differences between the First and Third World in terms of access to credit, and research how financial services such as microfinance have begun to counter this inequality. Also, we could explore the realm of jobs that exist in social business or microfinance, hopefully finding viable alternatives to the world of traditional capitalism.

             Over lunch conversations, 5 minute chats and Google documents (amazing btw), the idea molded into what it is today. And it is far from perfect, we will be the first to admit that, but we still and always have believed very deeply in the core goals and research of this project. We want to say thank you to everyone who gave us direction and took the time to humor us and hear out this crazy idea. I doubt too many people really took us seriously for the first 10 months of planning, or maybe ever. The project was a farfetched concept for a major film production, full of uncertainty that two twenty year olds, with big dreams and no film experience, had thought of. Even once we had refined our final proposal for the 10th time, we were declined funding repeatedly from every outlet we sought for a span of several months. I don’t even know if I truly believed myself that it would actually ever happen. It only became real to me as I lay down to sleep on our dirt floor the first night, hungry as all hell, and silently cursing myself for thinking this was a good idea... :)

          With all this in mind, I wanted to take the opportunity though to thank those that believed in us and decided to take a risk and fund this project. We are deeply indebted to Whole Planet Foundation, the philanthropic wing of Whole Foods (www.wholeplanetfoundation.org), and the students at Claremont McKenna College for making this happen.

           So as I come to the end of this experience, born from a conversation over a year ago, unlikely from the start, and fraught with repeated disappointment, how do I feel? I am again sitting in my tree, this time watching the colors of the sky switch from shades of pink and blue, to purple, and now a yellowish gray, while I write. Every gust of wind and shift in the sky’s portraits evokes a wave of new emotions within me. I cannot label them as good or bad, positive or negative, but I will deem them strong. This trip has been a whirlwind. My mind is skipping around at a rapid pace, jumping from thoughts of orange juice and Chocolate Chip cookie dough ice cream in my kitchen, to my loved ones at home, to my future life path, to my loved ones here, to the stories we just compiled, to the fact that my bony butt hurts from sitting atop my tree. While my emotions are mixed and powerful right now, I know, with both my heart and mind, that this project was the right decision for me at this point in my life and I will never regret it nor regret taking the time to experience it. Because in reality, as we have sarcastically joked about throughout the trip, 8 weeks is nothing. I mean, as my brother kindly calculated and sent to me from his cubicle in New York, it’s only .08% of my life so far.

           My decision to take this trip to follow my intellectual interest in microfinance and development economics, passion for travelling, and desire to give back some of what I have received, does not mean I am rejecting my life at home. I see it as adding another perspective; a perspective that will keep me asking questions, growing, and appreciating my loved ones and my opportunities. I love my life at home and am genuinely happy spending time with my friends and family, chilling and enjoying life. I guess I am seeing now that I do not have to choose between this world and that one. My eating a steak or enjoying the shit out of a shower when I get home does not mean I am betraying Chino and Anthony. My friends here have blessed me with their smiles, generosity, and stories, and I will have them forever more, to dig into, and harness patience and selflessness in times of need. I was fortunate enough to be born into an amazing world, far removed from many of the struggles that plague this mountain side and I cannot deny this. It seems unproductive to me to self loath because of fortunate circumstances beyond my control.

           I kinda feel like I have three options. I can either ignorantly pretend poverty doesn’t exit, pessimistically hate the world for its inequality, or accept it and try out some ideas to try and make it a bit better. I want to move forward from these 8 weeks by seeing my life and my resources as an opportunity, bordering on a responsibility, to bring some good into this world. To remember those that are struggling, to accept their struggle not hide from it, and try to capture opportunities, no matter how small, to give back to this world that has given me so much.

                Ok that’s as much rambling as I can muster right now. My butt is hurting a bit too much, the sun has risen, and I am probably already late for my last English class at the local school. Also, I have to figure out how to get down out of this moisture laden tree without prompting an expensive hospital bill on my last days…

                Thank you to everyone for reading, donating, spreading the word, and for giving me the inspiration to stay strong and continue trucking through this experience. It would not have been possible without you. While not my last post, this will be my last from Guatemala. Much love and respect from Pena Blanca.
Lizanne
8/9/2010 01:28:18 am

Chris- I have followed your journey this summer with wonder and awe. I hope we can connect before you head back to CA. I am so proud of you for pursing this passion out of the college boy/Fairfield County comfort zone.
Safe Travels home. See you soon.
xoLizzer

Reply
Elena
8/9/2010 09:36:55 am

Chris-
It's so great to hear you articulate your thoughts on how to integrate this experience into your life back in the US. I'm sure it must be difficult to grapple with the stark disparities between a comfortable life at home and the families you've come to know and love in a third world country. In any event, I think your conclusion that it's an opportunity, "bordering on responsibility," to experience a new life and give back to the global community is an excellent one. I hope that your message really reaches our fellow CMCers (and the many others who will hopefully see your documentary), because after all, the life of a privileged American is only one of the millions of lives on earth that make up the human experience. This has been a truly amazing project and I can't wait to see what you come up with next!

Reply
4/24/2013 04:42:43 pm

Your metabolism is the measure of how much energy you burn over a period of time. While we often think of exercising as burning calories, the effect of exercise is small compared to the total calories you burn.

Reply
6/13/2013 02:05:33 pm

The lateral raise seems like such a simple exercise. How many variations can there possibly be? Well, the answer to that question, as I'll soon show you, is "Plenty"!

4/24/2013 04:43:19 pm

When you are looking for a decent magazine, first you should decide what topic are you interested in. Select a magazine carefully so that you can easily get hold of the information

Reply
4/24/2013 04:43:49 pm

Pick one or more places to sell your finished clothing. You can look into selling items wholesale to local shops, through your own e-commerce store, an online artisan marketplace such as Etsy or 1000 Markets, at flea markets or in a brick and mortar storefront. Selling the clothing online is the least expensive and easiest to start with.

Reply
4/24/2013 04:44:20 pm

Luxury items such as jewelry, handbags and electronics are often too expensive for the average consumer's budget --- until they're purchased and resold at a lower price. Then, consumers can have the quality of a luxury item at the price of a more commonplace good. Make money by flipping luxury items and reselling them in your own online store.

Reply
4/24/2013 04:44:56 pm

Gadgets always attract number of consumers. It does not matter what their age or social class is. Even, companies produce the cool gadgets for various reasons

Reply
10/26/2010 07:48:27 pm

I like this post. Thank you so much.

Reply
jenny
11/12/2010 03:28:31 am

Dear Chris,
I have watched almost ALL of your videos. and i really want to help the people who live on only $1 a day....but i am only (almost) 12. what do you think i should do?

Reply
4/29/2012 12:35:30 pm

Nice post.Thank you for taking the time to publish this information very useful! I've been looking for books of this nature for a way too long. I'm just glad that I found yours. Looking forward for your next post. Thanks :)

Cholo
www.0y7.net

Reply
5/7/2012 09:55:44 am

A handbag or just a bag as well as pouches are bags that happen to be normally used by women to hold their belongings. Most of these bags are made as per the fashion. A purse is actually a small bag which is used to

Reply
5/7/2012 11:10:27 am

coach in many countries have agents that can be searched, in China he has become our consumer goods. Hong Kong and Shanghai have already have a coach of the store, but Japan also introduced a coach that expensive, luxury brand, became his second of the Kingdom. We always see the screen "C" word, many celebrities are a big fan of coach, can often present with a variety of parties, fashion styles you, beautiful colors, enough to attract the eye. Star advertising effect, so that more people understand that coach.

Our Coach outlet store online wholesale ,retail and discount coach of the product brand.COACH has been the practicality and durability of leather goods for their own mind, in a balance between traditional and popular, and maintain the price on the plain is very suitable for a senior ladies fashion brand.

Reply
5/7/2012 05:06:17 pm

They can generate your family trip really memorable and even budget friendly.

Reply
5/9/2012 03:22:12 pm

No matter what the field or specialty of your business, there is a coach out there for you. By considering your individual situation and working to meet the long and short term goals of your business, business coaching will help foster your company's growth.

Reply
5/10/2012 10:35:12 am

Except for availing goods, on the list of exclusive attributes and even expertise in web based store shopping is without a doubt going without shoes can certainly meet your daydream family trip escapades.

Reply
5/10/2012 01:23:31 pm

The post is absolutely fantastic! Lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need! Also like to admire the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer! I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often.

Reply
6/24/2012 08:00:19 am

Good reading

Reply
7/17/2012 12:39:02 pm

Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? I�m kinda paranoid about losing everything I�ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

Reply
8/10/2012 12:31:49 pm

Excellent! I admire all the helpful data you've shared in your articles. I'm looking forward for more helpful articles from you. :)

Joseph Aidan
www.arielmed.com

Reply
9/19/2012 10:53:32 am

Interesting information on this blog, thanks

Reply
10/8/2012 10:38:54 pm

Thank you for posting.Waiting for updating.

Reply
4/1/2013 10:38:53 pm

We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post's to be precisely what I'm looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn't mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome site!

Reply
6/30/2013 02:17:45 pm


If you want your pet to be relaxed and feel loved, the perfect place for this is a pet hotel Lexington KY. Spas offer bathing, grooming, trimming, ear cleaning and even day care services for those who work long hours and cannot take care of their pets as required.

Reply
7/19/2013 02:55:01 pm

Magento Themes is another exciting template development market and CMSMART.net is coming to publish magento templates base on the same design concept with our popular Joomla Virtuemart template...Stay tunes!

Reply
7/19/2013 10:20:06 pm

Your website is very chatty. It will be useful for all of us. You have done a work. I will come here again to inspect new updates. Thanks for posting.

Reply
8/27/2013 05:13:39 pm

However finding the right title for your essay can be excruciatingly difficult, throughout literary history many of the greatest books of all time are littered with titles the authors didn’t like, and that surely was a drag on the book.

Reply
8/29/2013 10:11:32 pm

Magento Styles is another interesting design growth market and CMSMART.net is coming to post magento layouts platform on the same design with our popular Joomla ! Virtuemart design...Stay tunes!

Reply
9/7/2013 11:03:49 am

Great blog post.

Reply
10/3/2013 10:18:33 pm

Thanks for this exciting post. It is well written and has some great content. Do you have any others that I can go to about this subject?

Reply
10/26/2013 05:26:49 pm

One can be more informative as this. There are many things I can know only after reading your wonderful article.

Reply
11/24/2013 07:01:14 pm

The cost of every tile project is a combination of the cost of the tile and the cost of the labor to have it professionally installed. The purpose of the information here is to help you understand how the pattern

Reply



Leave a Reply.


try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1429984-4"); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}